Tennessee Journalism Hall Of Fame

“Recognizing individuals who have demonstrated outstanding skill in their Journalism field”

Journalism HOF honors 6 in 2018

Aug 21, 2019 at 02:29 pm by Hooper

MURFREESBORO-The Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame will honor seven outstanding Tennessee journalists during induction ceremonies Tuesday, August 7, 2018 at 4:30 pm during the Tennessee Association of Broadcasters annual Conference at Murfreesboro's Embassy Suites Hotel. This will mark the sixth class to be inducted into the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame located at Middle Tennessee State University. Previous class inductees may be found at www.tnjournalismhof.org.

This year's inductees include a veteran editorial cartoonist specializing in blending sharp but gentle humor with a world view that "peels away pretense." according to some; a First Amendment advocate, newspaper reporter and former Director of Tennessee Coalition for Open Government; a 36 year world renown Grand Ole Opry Photographer Publicist who captured visual interpretations of country music; a George Foster Peabody award winner, Anchor/Reporter Television News; a "Vol" Network Sportscaster/Analysis with more than 46 years' experience; The Co-Founder, Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame/Newspaper reporter/Columnist and Community Activist; and a National Headliner Award winner and was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize for undercover investigative reporting on the Klan.

Guest speakers include Ron Fryar, Owner and Publisher of the Cannon Courier and Past-President of the Tennessee Press Association, Whit Adamson, President of the Tennessee Association of Broadcasters, Ken Paulson, Dean of MTSU College of Media and Entertainment, and president of the Newseum Institute's First Amendment Center, and Dr. Larry Burriss, President, Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame and MTSU Journalism Professor.

The Tennessee Journalism Hall Fame is an independent partner with MTSU recognizing individuals who have distinguished themselves through news or business management, leadership in the industry, or in the ordinary practice of Journalism. Inductees can include reporters, writers, editors, publishers, news directors, and other managers as well as those who have excelled in advertising or public relations, and journalism advertising and PR education. Inductees may be living or deceased, native Tennesseans or non-natives who spent a substantial part of their career in Tennessee.

Page 2-2-2 TJHOF

Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame Honorees for 2018 are:

  • CHARLIE DANIEL-An East Tennessee Editorial Cartoonist icon producing over 15,000 cartoons during his career that has spanned more than 55 years.
  • FRANK GIBSON-A 52-year veteran award winning Middle Tennessee Journalist statewide advocate for journalists, the First Amendment and government transparency
  • LES LEVERETT-A world famous photographer publicist extraordinaire capturing memories of Grand Ole Opry stars from Nashville Tennessee's Music City USA. The ultimate country music gentleman photographer whose images permanently preserves memories of southern Americana Music
  • BOB MUELLER- A 10-time Emmy Award winner Television News Anchor/Reporter, Silver Circle member with over 25 years working in broadcast journalism and over 35 years working at News 2, the ABC affiliate in Nashville; Recipient of the coveted George Foster Peabody National Award for excellence in investigative reporting
  • RANDY SMITH-Sportscaster for over 46 years, completing over 500 telecasts as a sporting event analysist. Staff announce with the VOL Network, first sportscaster inducted into the Greater Chattanooga Sports Hall of Fame.
  • DAN WHITTLE-Co-founder Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame, reporter, popular Co-host of the Truman Radio Show at Murfreesboro's WGNS, 50-year champion of The First Amendment.
  • JERRY THOMPSON (POSTHUMOUS)-Investigative Reporter Columnist/television celebrity and a role model for how to live life to the fullest. Nicknamed "Tub" for having a robust tummy, Thompson won a National Headliner Award, one of journalism's most prestigious citations and a nomination for a Pulitzer Prize for his undercover investigative reporting series on the Klan.

For more information about the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame, visit www.tnjournalismhof.org or contact Hooper Penuel, Secretary, TJHOF at (615) 347-1672, or hhpvote@comast.net.

Sections: Announcements