Tennessee Journalism Hall Of Fame

“Recognizing individuals who have demonstrated outstanding skill in their Journalism field”

Members | 2014

Otis Sanford

Aug 12, 2014 at 09:47 am by Hooper

Sanford, a longtime editor with The Commercial Appeal in Memphis, now holds the Helen and Jabie Hardin Chair of Excellence in Economics/Managerial Journalism in the Department.... Read More

Sam Venable

Aug 12, 2014 at 09:47 am by Hooper

Venable, a writer for the Knoxville News Sentinel and a news columnist since 1985, also has written 12 books featuring his wit and unique look at life and contributed to many.... Read More

Alex S. Jones

Aug 12, 2014 at 09:46 am by Hooper

A Pulitzer Prize winner, author, National Public Radio host and lecturer, Jones is the director of the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard's Joh.... Read More

Luther Masingill

Aug 12, 2014 at 09:46 am by Hooper

Masingill is the world's longest-serving radio announcer working at the same station, marking more than 70 years at WDEF-FM 92.3, complemented by 60 years at WDEF-TV in Chatta.... Read More

Joe Birch

Aug 12, 2014 at 09:45 am by Hooper

A veteran lead anchor for 35 years with WMC-TV, Birch is as well-known in Memphis as CBS's Walter Cronkite was to the nation. Devoted to his craft, his community and his famil.... Read More